Library Catalogs and Databases


Library Catalogs

Merlin Local Library Catalog

Merlin is the shared catalog of NWLS member libraries. With a library card patrons can directly request, renew, and can check the status of items either checked out or on hold.

OverDrive Digital Media Catalog

The Wisconsin Public Library Consortium (WPLC) offers an OverDrive catalog of downloadable ebooks, videos, music and audiobooks that can be reserved and/or checked out on your library card. To get started, click on the Help link at the top of the page.

WisCat State Library Catalog

WisCat is the Wisconsin library catalog that can be browsed when the Merlin catalog doesn't have what you're looking for. Contact your librarian to request items from WisCat.

WordCat Global Catalog

WorldCat is a worldwide catalog of library collections that includes more than 67 million bibliographic records with items in many different formats. Patrons can access this database at any library or at home with a user-friendly search page.


Library Databases

Ancestry Genealogy Database

Ancestry Library Edition is an extensive library genealogy research tool. Access is limited to in-library use. Promotional and training materials are available.

BadgerLink Discovery Databases

BadgerLink contains thousands of newspaper and periodical titles, image files, and other reference materials. EBSCO (BadgerLink) offers over 6,000 magazine and journal titles, over half of which are available in full-text, and an online support center. BadgerLink, available to everyone in Wisconsin without a password, is a project of the Department of Public Instruction's Division for Libraries, Technology, and Community Learning for the citizens of Wisconsin. Funding is provided through the Public Service Commission Universal Service Fund. BadgerLink promotional materials are available.

Job & Career Database

Job & Career Accelerator is a database for exploring careers, finding jobs, and getting help with resumes, cover letters, interviews and keeping track of your job search progress. To access Job & Career Accelerator, set up an account by going to"New User Registration" at http://jca.learnatest.com/lel/ or by going to "New Users" on the LearningExpress Library home page at http://www.learnatest.com/LEL/. A Quick Start Guide is available to help you get started.

Learning Skills Database

LearningExpress Library is a learning center for people of all ages and education levels interested in learning extra skills for school or work. People in the NWLS service area can create an account from a library or from home using a library card. Visit the Help Center for help to get started. Featured lists of tests, courses and ebooks are available from the Merlin catalog.